Jul 17 – 22, 2022
Royal Conservatory of Music, Toronto
America/Toronto timezone

Measurements of $n$p - 2s transitions in the hydrogen atom

Jul 21, 2022, 5:00 PM
1h 30m
Hart House (Hart House)

Hart House

Hart House

7 Hart House Cir, Toronto, ON M5S 3H3
Poster presentation Precision measurement and tests of fundamental physics Poster session


Precision experiments in the hydrogen atom have a long tradition and extensive studies of transitions between low lying $n\leq12$ states were carried out [1-6]. These measurements can be used to determine values of the Rydberg constant and the proton charge radius. We present a new experimental approach to perform measurements of transition frequencies between the metastable 2s $^{2}$S$_{1/2} (F = 0,1)$ state of H and highly excited $n$p-Rydberg states with principal quantum number $n \geq 23$.
We generate the hydrogen atoms by dissociating H$_2$ in a dielectric barrier discharge located at the orifice of a pulsed cryogenic valve. The hydrogen atoms are entrained in the supersonic expansion of H$_2$. The atoms are photoexcited to a specific hyperfine level of the metastable 2s $^{2}$S$_{1/2}$ state by a home-built frequency-tripled Fourier-transform-limited pulsed titanium-sapphire laser (pulse length 40 ns). They enter a magnetically shielded region in which transitions to $n$p Rydberg states are induced by a narrow-band frequency-doubled continuous-wave titanium-sapphire laser, which is phase locked to an optically stabilized frequency comb and referenced over a fiber network to a SI traceable primary frequency standard [7]. The highly excited Rydberg states are detected by pulsed-field ionization. We will report progress on our efforts to minimize uncertainties from stray electric fields and Doppler shifts and to obtain spectral lines with a FWHM below 10 MHz.
This work was supported by the Swiss National Science Foundation through the Sinergia-Program (Grant No. CRSII5-183579) and Grant No. 200020B-200478.

[1] J. C. Garreau $\textit{et al.}$, J. Phys. France $\textbf{51}$, 2293 (1990).
[2] C. G. Parthey $\textit{et al.}$, Phys. Rev. Lett. $\textbf{107}$, 203001 (2011).
[3] A. Beyer $\textit{et al.}$, Science $\textbf{358}$, 79 (2017).
[4] H. Fleurbaey $\textit{et al.}$, Phys. Rev. Lett. $\textbf{120}$, 183001 (2018).
[5] N. Bezginov $\textit{et al.}$, Science $\textbf{365}$, 1007 (2019).
[6] A. Grinin $\textit{et al.}$, Science $\textbf{370}$, 1061 (2020).
[7] D. Husmann $\textit{et al.}$, Optics Express $\textbf{29}$,24592 (2021).

Presenter name Simon Scheidegger

Primary authors

Simon Scheidegger (ETH Zurich) Mr Joseph Anton Agner (ETH Zurich) Mr Hansjürg Schmutz (ETH Zurich) Prof. Frédéric Merkt (ETH Zurich)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.