Jul 17 – 22, 2022
Royal Conservatory of Music, Toronto
America/Toronto timezone

Silicon-photomultiplier embedded photodetector for ACME III

Jul 19, 2022, 5:00 PM
1h 30m
Hart House (Hart House)

Hart House

Hart House

7 Hart House Cir, Toronto, ON M5S 3H3
Poster presentation Precision measurement and tests of fundamental physics Poster session


A measurement of the electron electric dipole moment (eEDM) is a powerful probe for the existence of physics beyond the Standard Model of particle physics. The ACME experiment searched for eEDM with the world's highest sensitivity using cold ThO polar molecules (Nature, 562 (2018) 355-360). One of the improvements for the next generation of the ACME experiment is using silicon photomultipliers (SiPMs) as LIF photon detectors instead of PMTs. We have developed a dedicated SiPM module and evaluated its performance. The SiPM module shows about a 2.5 times higher detection efficiency than the PMTs used in the previous ACME experiment. This reports the design and results of performance test of the SiPM module.
This work was supported by the National Science Foundation, the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, JSPS KAKENHI, and Okayama University RECTOR program.

Presenter name Takahiko Masuda
How will you attend ICAP-27? I am planning on in-person attendance

Primary authors

Takahiko Masuda (Okayama University) Daniel Ang (Harvard University) David DeMille (University of Chicago & Argonne National Laboratory) Collin Diver (Northwestern University) Prof. John Doyle (Harvard University & Harvard-MIT Center for Ultracold Atoms) Prof. Gerald Gabrielse (Northwestern University) Zhen Han (University of Chicago & Harvard University) Ayami Hiramoto (Okayama University) Peiran Hu (University of Chicago & Harvard University) Nick Hutzler (California Institute of Technology) Daniel Lascar (Northwestern University) Dr Zack Lasner (Harvard University) Siyuan Liu (Northwestern University) Cole Meisenhelder (Harvard University) John Mitchell (Northwestern University) Cristian Panda (University of California, Berkeley) Prof. Noboru Sasao (Okayama University) Prof. Satoshi Uetake (Okayama University) Maya Watts (Northwestern University) Dr Xing Wu (University of Chicago & Harvard University) Prof. Koji Yoshimura (Okayama University)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.